Political And Other Miscellany From A Stout Democrat In Dallas Texas.
"Politics is the only game for adults." --from Robert A. Heinlein's Double Star

Monday, January 21, 2008

District Convention Temporary Chairs

On Saturday, March 29, Democrats from each State Senate district in Dallas County will meet in District Conventions to choose delegates to the State Convention in Austin (where delegates will be chosen to go to this year's National Convention in Denver). Times and locations for each will be announced here later.

The arrangements for each District Convention are being handled by a Temporary Chair. These are the people you need to call or email to volunteer to help put on the event (a huge task) and to be on committees (Resolutions, Rules, etc.). All of us will need lots of help, as attendance will be larger than usual since this is a Presidential year.

UPDATE: Several districts are looking at moving to larger locations, because of the huge number of people elected as delegates at the Precinct Conventions. We'll post them here as they confirm them to us.

Convention Location: H. Grady Spruce High School
9733 Old Seagoville Road, Dallas 75217
Registration begins at 8:30 AM.
Convention begins at 11 AM.

Temporary District Convention Chair: Steve Tillery
Phone: 214-821-8331
Email: satillery AT gmail DOT com

Convention Location:
Thomas Jefferson High School
4001 Walnut Hill
Dallas Texas 75229
Registration begins at 8:30 AM
Convention begins at 9:30 AM

Temporary District Convention Chair: David Griggs
Phone: 214-244-5979
Email: texvol AT aol DOT com

Credentials Committee Co-chairs:
Linda Camin 972-387-3917 and
Josh Wallenstein 972-510-7710

Convention Location:
South Grand Prairie High School
301 Warrior Trail
Grand Prairie, Texas 75052
Check-in begins at 8 AM
Convention begins at 10 AM

Temporary District Convention Chair: Dan Woolery
Phone: 214-384-4146
Email: danwoolery AT gmail DOT com

Convention Location:
Moody Coliseum at SMU
6024 Airline Road
Dallas Texas 75205
(parking garages across the street)
Registration begins at 8 AM

Temporary District Convention Chair: Theresa Daniel
Phone: 214-327-4424
Email: tmdan34 AT aol DOT com

Convention Location:
Ellis Davis Field House
9191 South Polk (just south of I20)
Dallas TX 75232
Registration begins at 8 AM
Convention begins at 9 AM

Want to help? Our Volunteer Coordinator is Katrina Keyes.
Email her: kkeyes AT kstrategies DOT com

Our Official Website (still being added to:)
Unofficial temporary website:

Temporary District Convention Chair: Bill Howell
Phone: 214-821-8331
Email him: billhowellSD23 AT yahoo DOT com

23rd SD Convention Committee Chairs:
Credentials -- Gary Fitzsimmons (District Clerk of Dallas County)
[Phone: 214-641-1531 Email: divineliturgy AT]
Nominations -- Myrtis Evans
Platform and Resolutions -- Paul Tran


Post a Comment

<< Home